Eric Yarnell, ND, RH(AHG)

Author / Co-Founder

Eric Yarnell, ND, RH(AHG) graduated from Bastyr University (Seattle, WA) in 1996, after which he completed a two-year residency/apprenticeship with master herbalist and physician Silena Heron, RN, ND in Sedona, AZ. Dr. Yarnell served as chair of the department of botanical medicine at Southwest College of Naturopathic Medicine (SCNM; Tempe, AZ). He has served as senior and associate editor of the Journal of Naturopathic Medicine. He has been in private practice since 1997 specializing in men’s health, urology, and nephrology. He is chief medical officer at Northwest Naturopathic Urology (Woodinville, WA). Dr. Yarnell achieved the rank of professor in the botanical medicine department at Bastyr University; he now works as an adjunct and clinical research associate there. He is also adjunct faculty at SCNM and Boucher Institute of Naturopathic Medicine (Vancouver, BC, now part of CCNM), the latter of which he played a small role in founding.

He is a co-founder and chief creativity office of Wild Brilliance Press, a publisher of natural medicine textbooks for students and practitioners. He is also president of Heron Botanicals, Inc. an herbal pharmacy providing hand-crafted, whole plant extracts exclusively to health care providers. He is founder and chief scientific officer of Red Root Pharmaceuticals which works to develop botanical drugs. He is on the editorial board of the International Journal of Naturopathic Medicine.

Dr. Yarnell is author of numerous texts and articles including Natural Approach to Gastroenterology 2nd ed, Natural Approach to Urology 2nd ed, and Natural Approach to Prostate Conditions 2nd ed. He is co-author of Clinical Botanical Medicine 2nd ed and the A-Z Guide to Drug-Herb-Vitamin Interactions. He is a contributing author for The Textbook of Natural Medicine 4th ed and Principles and Practice of Phytotherapy: Modern Herbal Medicine 2nd ed. His forthcoming text is Naturopathic Approach to Nephrology. He has lectured widely in North America and the world. He was awarded the American Association of Naturopathic Physician’s Vis Award in 2014, the Borborygmus Award from the Gastroenterology Association of Naturopathic Physicians in 2020, and is two-time recipient of the Naturopathic Medical Student Association’s Faculty of the Year Award, in 2018 and 2020.